Monday, January 21, 2008

Bates Results

On January 18-19, the Dartmouth Parliamentary Debate team traveled to Bates College for the first competition of Winter Term. Bolstered by the return of several teammates who were off last term, Dartmouth was able to field several experienced teams for the tournament. As a result, 3 Dartmouth teams finished in the top ten, with Kevin Karp ’10 and Marcus Gadson ’10 finishing in 5th place, Andrew Wansley ’10 and Joe Huston ’10 in 7th place, and Sourabh Mishra ‘10 and Connor Beatty ’10 in 10th. For individual speakers, Andrew Wansley placed 8th.

Sunday, January 20, 2008

The Dartmouth Winter Invitational

On January 11-12, the Dartmouth Parli team started off winter term by hosting the Dartmouth Winter Invitational tournament. Despite the fact that many schools were still on winter break, we had a great turnout with 46 teams from across the country making the trip up to Hanover. After 5 competitive in-rounds, and some very close decisions in out-rounds, in the end it was Aram Boghosian and Rob Silverblatt of Tufts defeating Chris Baia and Mike Childers of Johns Hopkins in the final round. Rocky Lotito of BU was the top speaker at the tournament.

Thanks to everyone who helped make this tournament a success. We hope that everyone who came enjoyed their time at Dartmouth and we hope to see you back for our tournament next year.

Full tournament results:

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

Dartmouth Wins Tufts!

On November 9th and 10th, three Dartmouth teams participated in the Tufts University debate tournament. Tufts was a "Pro-Am" which means that each team was comprised of one varsity debater and one novice debater. This format gave our less seasoned team members some great experience and it also made for a very competitive tournament. The team of Andrew Wansley '10 and Mostafa Heddaya '11 emerged from the pack with a 4-1 record. The pair then won a string of impressive victories in out rounds to make it to the final round, where they defeated a very strong Yale team to take home first place. Andrew also earned the 3rd place varsity speaker award. With their victory, both Andrew and Mostafa have now qualified for Nationals, which takes place in the spring.

The Parliamentary Debate team is currently preparing to host the Dartmouth Winter Invitational tournament which will take place January 11-12.